Solent Softball League

The league was founded in 1995 by Chris O'Connor, who moved from London to Portsmouth and missed playing softball so much that he decided to try setting up a league in his new home.

Chris put up posters for a series of winter sessions in January 1995. People turned up, and two teams that later became the Southsea Sharks and the Portsmouth Dodgers were formed. By the summer, there were four or five teams and a small league that's been going, with ups and downs, ever since.

From these humble beginnings, the league grew to accept new teams from Southampton in the west, to Brighton in the east. Players familiar with the sport have been joined by complete novices to enjoy the summer months hitting, throwing, chasing and running around the Solent region in competitive softball.

The league has two main bases in Southampton and Portsmouth, that host most of the teams. There are also teams based in Chichester, Eastleigh, and a development team based in Gosport.

There are three divisions, with teams playing inter divisional games, as well as frequent weekend tournaments hosted by the league. In the winter months, there are indoor tournaments and leagues run for those who need their softball fix all year round.
SSL Committee
Mike Doe
League Chairman

Zoe Williams
League Secretary

Sarah Cole
League Treasurer

Lauren Cummings
Fixtures and Membership Officer

Simon Tymms
Umpire in Chief

Bryan Barry
Welfare Officer

Kat Carter
Coaching Officer (West)
Fundraising Officer

Scott Summers
Publicity and Media Officer

Matt Tebb
Coaching Officer (East)
Tournaments Officer
Judy Ellinger
Recruitment Officer (West)

Scott Amero
Solent Seahawks Organiser

Andy Burgess
Recruitment Officer (East)