Follow us on

Mar 17 2024

2023 Solent Softball League Awards Night

News Image


Saturday October 28th

The annual SSL end-of-season party was held this weekend at the Jolly Sailor in Southsea. Hosted by League Chairman Matt Tebb, Divisional awards were handed out before the announcement of the individual award winners and this year's Hall of Fame inductee.

After a recap of an amazing 2023 season that saw a close fight for the Solent Title, as well as outstandingly close but high-scoring, games in Division Two, the League trophies were handed out.

 Division One winners Itchen Knicks

Runners-up Solent Oddballs.

Division Two winners Southsea Sharks

Runners-up Vikings

After every game in the league, each team nominates two MVPs from the opposing side. The plate umpire also does the same, choosing from either side. The people with the most nominations are the recipients of this year's MVP Awards:


Division One MVPs: Nicki Puckett and Steve Banyon

Division Two MVPs: Emily Wentworth and Kevin Lambe

There is always a good intake of beginners throughout the season, and those playing their first season of slowpitch softball are elligible for the Rookie of the Year award. Rookies are nominated by their team captains, and voting takes place. This year's recipients were:

Rookies of the Year: Anna Gailey and Gabriela Dascalescu.

We are all looking forward to another great season of Softball in 2024. See you all again next year!

Recent News